Skip to content

Airport transit visa

Citizens of the following countries are required to hold an airport transit visa (ATV) when transiting through any airport in the Schengen Area (Visa code handbook Annexe 7A)

  1. Afghanistan
  2. Bangladesh
  3. Democratic Republic of the Congo
  4. Eritrea
  5. Ethiopia
  6. Ghana
  7. Iran
  8. Iraq
  9. Nigeria
  10. Pakistan
  11. Somalia
  12. Sri Lanka

You do not need an airport transit visa if you hold a valid Schengen visa, national long-stay visa or residence permit issued by one of the European Union countries 

The application process for an airport transit visa is the same as for a normal Schengen visa.