Skip to content

About Denmark

54° and 58° of latitude north and 8° and 15° of longitude east lies the Kingdom of Denmark, consisting of Denmark, the Faroe Islands and Greenland.

Denmark is made up of the peninsula of Jutland and more than 400 named islands - of which around 78 are inhabited. Zealand is the largest and most densely populated. Here, the capital of Copenhagen is situated. The population of Denmark is approximately 5.9 millions (2023).

The Kingdom of Denmark is a constitutional monarchy with Queen Margrethe II as the reigning monarch. The system of government is parliamentary with a state-level government and local governments in 98 municipalities.